Upgrading Bambu Lab printers for engineering materials

Bambu Lab printers lock the nozzle temperature in firmware, so upgrading one for engineering materials is mostly about the nozzle material, the enclosure and the chamber. This page sets out each model's stock limits, which materials they cover, and the hotend options that fit.

Published · Last verified

Rows of Bambu Lab printers running behind the glass front of a Bambu Lab store
Photo: TWS LUOK Mingaowpuo, CC0

To upgrade a Bambu Lab printer for engineering materials, match the model’s stock limits to the material, then change the part that falls short. On most models that means a hardened nozzle for fiber-filled filaments, an enclosed printer for ABS, ASA, PC and nylon, and more chamber heat. The nozzle ceiling is set in firmware, and no hotend swap raises it.

What materials can Bambu Lab printers print?

Every Bambu Lab printer prints PLA, PETG and TPU stock. Bambu Lab’s filament guide marks ABS, ASA, PC and the nylons as “Not Recommended” on open-frame models, and it requires a hardened steel nozzle for every carbon- or glass-fiber filament. Its hottest common material, PPS-CF, is listed as compatible only with the H2 series and the X1E.

The guide groups the printers by frame. Its enclosed list names the “Bambu H2 Series, X2D, P2S, X1, X1C, P1S”. The guide says ABS, ASA, PC, PA and their filled grades “require higher heatbed and chamber temperatures to suppress warping and layer separation”. The open-frame A series and P1P cover the easy materials only.

Stock limits of each Bambu Lab printer

The table lists the limits that decide which materials a model can run: nozzle and bed maximums, enclosure, chamber heating and the nozzle material it ships with. Rows are in the order Bambu Lab’s line runs, from the open A series up.

Printer Nozzle max Bed max Enclosure Chamber heating Stock nozzle Status
A1 mini 300 °C 80 °C Open None Stainless steel On sale
A1 300 °C 100 °C Open None Stainless steel On sale
P1P 300 °C 100 °C Open frame None Stainless steel Sales ended February 10, 2026
P1S 300 °C 100 °C Enclosed Passive Stainless steel On sale
P2S 300 °C 110 °C Enclosed Passive (“50°C Chamber Ready”) Hardened steel On sale
X1 Carbon 300 °C 110 °C at 220 V, 120 °C at 110 V Enclosed Passive Hardened steel End of life March 31, 2026; refurbished only
X1E 320 °C 110 °C at 220 V, 120 °C at 110 V Enclosed Active, 60 °C Hardened steel End of life March 31, 2026
X2D 300 °C 120 °C Enclosed Active, 65 °C Hardened steel On sale
H2S 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed Active, 65 °C Hardened steel On sale
H2D 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed Active, 65 °C Hardened steel On sale
H2C 350 °C 120 °C Enclosed Active, 65 °C Hardened steel On sale

Figures come from Bambu Lab’s spec pages and spec sheets, listed in the sources. Bambu Lab’s X1-series end-of-life post says firmware fixes and feature updates continue to May 31, 2027, security patches to May 31, 2029, and spare parts and support to March 31, 2031.

Bambu Lab hotend temperature limit explained

Most Bambu Lab printers top out at 300 °C at the nozzle. The X1E reaches 320 °C, and the H2 series reaches 350 °C. The limit belongs to the printer, not the hotend. On its ObXiDian 500 hotend listing, E3D writes: “You will always be restricted by the maximum printing temperature of your machine (320°C for X1E, 300°C for X1C, P1P & P1S).”

Bambu Lab publishes no user setting to raise these limits. Its X1E FAQ says the X1 and X1C “do not support installing the hotend assembly of the X1E (including the heater, NTC, and thermal grease).” To print hotter than your model allows, the route is a model with a higher ceiling. On the H2 series that ceiling is 350 °C.

What is the max chamber temperature on Bambu printers?

Bambu Lab printers with active chamber heating reach 60 to 65 °C. The X1E reaches 60 °C, and the X2D and H2 series reach 65 °C. The P1S, X1 Carbon and P2S are enclosed but have no chamber heater, so their chamber warms only from the bed and the print. Bambu Lab rates the P2S as “50°C Chamber Ready”.

Bambu Lab does not support adding its chamber heater to older models. Its X1E FAQ states that “the X1 and X1C printers do not support the installation of the chamber heating module”, and that the P1 series does not either. Third-party heaters exist for these printers. Fitting one is an unsupported addition under Bambu Lab’s warranty terms.

Heat in the enclosure has a cost. Bambu Lab’s heat creep article recommends keeping the enclosure “at least 10 degrees lower than the glass transition temperature of the filament”, because heat buildup is the most common cause of extruder clogs on the X1 Carbon and P1S.

Do Bambu printers need upgrades for ABS?

Not the enclosed ones. The P1S, P2S, X1 Carbon, X1E, X2D and H2 series all print ABS and ASA stock. Bambu Lab’s filament guide lists a 90 to 100 °C bed for both, within every enclosed model’s range. The open A1, A1 mini and P1P are marked “Not Recommended” for ABS and ASA, so they need an enclosure first.

On enclosed models, keep the lid on. Bambu Lab’s filament guide answers “NO” to removing the upper glass cover for ABS and ASA. It recommends opening the door or removing the glass only for PLA, PVA and TPU above a 45 °C bed, and for PETG above 60 °C.

Engineering filaments on Bambu printers: what actually works

Which engineering filaments work depends on two things: whether the model has a hardened nozzle, and how hot its nozzle runs. The table combines Bambu Lab’s filament guide with each model’s stock limits. The P1S and P1P need a hardened nozzle before any fiber-filled material.

Material Nozzle range Needs Bambu Lab models that meet it stock
ABS, ASA 240 to 280 °C Enclosure P1S, P2S, X1 Carbon, X1E, X2D, H2 series
PC 260 to 290 °C Enclosure, 100 to 120 °C bed P2S (bed to 110 °C), X1 Carbon, X1E, X2D, H2 series
PA-CF, PAHT-CF, PET-CF 260 to 300 °C Enclosure, hardened nozzle P2S, X1 Carbon, X1E, X2D, H2 series
PPA-CF 285 to 320 °C Enclosure, hardened nozzle, nozzle above 300 °C for the top of the range X1E, H2 series
PPS-CF 310 to 340 °C Listed for the H2 series and X1E only H2 series, X1E

Nozzle ranges are Bambu Lab’s, with a tolerance of plus or minus 10 °C. The P1S has a 100 °C bed, which reaches only the bottom of the PC range. Bambu Lab’s X1E chamber guide recommends 60 °C for warp-prone prints, which only models with active heating can hold.

Hotend upgrade options for Bambu printers

A hotend swap on a Bambu Lab printer changes the nozzle material, the flow rate or both. It does not change the temperature ceiling. For P1S owners, the useful upgrade is a hardened nozzle, which unlocks fiber-filled filaments. The table lists hotends sold for the X1 and P1 series, sorted by maker, with each seller’s price and stated rating.

Hotend Fits Price Rating stated by seller
Bambu Lab Hotend, X1C (hardened steel) X1C From $14.99 Not stated
Bambu Lab Hotend, P1 Series (hardened steel, complete) P1 series $34.99 Not stated
E3D High Flow ObXidian Complete HotEnd X1, P1 (not X1E) £90.00 300 °C
E3D High Flow ObXiDian 500 Complete HotEnd X1C, P1P, P1S, X1E £120.00 Limited to the printer’s maximum
E3D DiamondBack HotEnd Bambu Lab £125.00 320 °C on the X1E only; 300 °C on X1C, P1P and P1S
Micro Swiss FlowTech Hotend X1, P1 From $74.95 Not stated
Phaetus Conch Hotend Plus SiC X1, P1 $46.90 Not stated
Slice Engineering Mako 65W for Bambu Lab X1, X1C, P1P, P1S, X1E From $124.99 360 °C; Slice notes Bambu Lab firmware limits the printers to 300 to 320 °C

Prices are as listed by each seller on October 1, 2026, in the seller’s currency. Whatever a hotend is rated for, the printer’s firmware limit still applies. A third-party hotend is a third-party accessory under Bambu Lab’s warranty, which excludes damage it causes.

Upgrade installation checklist for Bambu printers

Before fitting any upgrade to a Bambu Lab printer, confirm it fits your exact model, keep the parts it replaces, and know where you stand on warranty. E3D’s listings show why fit matters. It states that “the X1 and P1 E3D Bambu Lab ObXidian High Flow Hotends are not compatible with the X1E printer.”

  1. Check fit by model. Read the part’s compatibility list. X1, X1E, P1 and H2 parts differ.
  2. Check the warranty terms. Bambu Lab excludes damage caused by third-party accessories and unofficial firmware.
  3. Record the starting point. Note the firmware version and photograph the parts you will remove.
  4. Keep the originals. Bag and label the stock hotend or plate.
  5. Recalibrate after fitting. Run the printer’s calibration before the first print with the new part.

Sources

  1. Bambu Lab Wiki, Filament guide: printer, nozzle, AMS, build plate, glue compatibility and required parameters (accessed October 1, 2026)
  2. Bambu Lab, A1 mini tech specs (accessed October 1, 2026)
  3. Bambu Lab, A1 tech specs (accessed October 1, 2026)
  4. Bambu Lab store, P1S (with P1P comparison) (accessed October 1, 2026)
  5. Bambu Lab, P1S tech specs (PDF) (accessed October 1, 2026)
  6. Bambu Lab store, P2S (accessed October 1, 2026)
  7. Bambu Lab, X1 Carbon tech specs (PDF) (accessed October 1, 2026)
  8. Bambu Lab, X1E (accessed October 1, 2026)
  9. Bambu Lab, H2S tech specs (accessed October 1, 2026)
  10. Bambu Lab, H2D tech specs (accessed October 1, 2026)
  11. Bambu Lab, H2C spec sheet (PDF) (accessed October 1, 2026)
  12. Bambu Lab store, X2D (accessed October 1, 2026)
  13. Bambu Lab Blog, The X1-series is EOL (March 31, 2026) (accessed October 1, 2026)
  14. Bambu Lab Wiki, X1E FAQ (accessed October 1, 2026)
  15. Bambu Lab Wiki, What is heat creep? (accessed October 1, 2026)
  16. Bambu Lab store, Bambu Hotend - X1C (accessed October 1, 2026)
  17. Bambu Lab store, Bambu Hotend - P1 Series (accessed October 1, 2026)
  18. E3D, High Flow ObXidian Complete HotEnd for Bambu Lab X1 & P1 (accessed October 1, 2026)
  19. E3D, High Flow ObXiDian 500 Complete HotEnd for Bambu Lab X1C, P1P, P1S & X1E (accessed October 1, 2026)
  20. E3D, DiamondBack HotEnd for Bambu Lab (accessed October 1, 2026)
  21. Micro Swiss, FlowTech Hotend for Bambu Lab X1 and P1 (accessed October 1, 2026)
  22. Slice Engineering, Mako for Bambu Lab (accessed October 1, 2026)
  23. Phaetus, Conch Hotend Plus SiC for X1/P1 (accessed October 1, 2026)